YES, THE MYTHICAL PS3 SLIM IS REAL


After about a year of rumors, pixelated magazine scans, and absolute forgeries, the mythical PS3 Slim that many said did not even exist, officially now exists. Exhibit A: the video above brought to you by GamesRadar.

This my friends, is a wonderful day indeed for the world of gaming. The most major gripe I held about the PS3 was not that it was necessarily big (hello, remember the original Xbox behemoth?) it was really the price that just killed it for me. There was no way I was going to spend $400+ on another gaming console, especially when there weren’t very many must have games that I wanted. My gaming machine of choice was obviously the Xbox 360 for many different reasons. That being said, this may alter things a bit for me.

I said once the price of the PS3 goes down by $100, I would go out and buy one. I will stick to my words and will do just that. When? I don’t know. But I’m sure it will be some time this year. There are so many games in the Sony PS3 library now I have been wanting to play. Sony really stepped it up in the games department and the future, although bleak in its current state, is looking brighter with this new price point. Not to mention the added bonus of a smaller console to fit next to my Xbox 360.

For now, I’ll watch the retail release date come and go. Wait for the drama to die down and any kinks in the hardware or firmware to be updated and resolved so I can start my PS3 gaming nirvana on a clear and hassle free path. If I’m going to jump to the dark side, I better damn well be doing it right.

To see the official SPECS of the PS3 Slim, head on over to the PS3 Blog…

Leave a comment