GLYDE.COM: SMOOTHEST WAY TO BUY & SELL GAMES, DVDS, CDS AND BOOKS

Forget retail. Forget GameStop, Craigslist, eBay and Amazon. Forget everything you know about buying, selling, or trading your used games. Glyde.com is the next big thing for us gamers and computer nerds, and yes I say computer nerds with pride as we have hijacked that stereotype and made it cool. Kind of like what Glyde is doing to the process of getting more value out of your used games, DVDs, CDs and books. It’s probably the easiest way I have ever sold a used item of mine. I can’t decide what the best part is, the fact that they send you pre-stamped, pre-addressed packaging to ship your sold goods, or the fact that all the images of your items are pre-loaded on the website. No waiting in line at the post office and no photography skills needed. No more emailing and calling to meet up with someone on Craigslist to buy your used item, no more haggling over the price, and finally no more accepting ridiculous trade in credit at GameStop. Do you have time for a quick story? Come… take a stroll with me.

My local GameStop accepts game trade ins and they accept DVDs for store credit as well. I bought the whole Season 3 of BattleStar Galactica on DVD after hearing about it Vancouver, Canada. (if you don’t know what BSG is, you’ve missed out on one of the best TV Series I’ve ever seen in my lifetime) Anyway, I finished watching Season 3 and no longer really needed the set anymore. However, I did want to buy Fallout 3. So I headed over to GameStop to trade in the DVD set and get some credit towards my new game purchase. At GameStop, they had the nerve to offer me sixty cents per disc. So that’s $3.60 total for my original $45.00 purchase. It wasn’t worth it at all to me so I decided to keep the DVDs for a rainy day. It’s a good thing I did because I found out about Glyde.com.

I went onto this brand new site and signed up immediately to test out how it works. After signing up, I clicked on sell, typed in BattleStar Galactica and up came a list of Battlestar DVDs, CDs, games and books I could choose from. Under the DVD section I clicked the Battlestar Season 3 and up pops a picture of the DVD cover and the price you can sell the DVD for according to the condition of the DVD. If I had never opened my DVD set and it was still in its original factory seal, I could have listed it for $42.50. Well, I opened it already so I had to pick the next condition which is Excellent. (The discs play perfectly, there were no visible scratches and no damage to the case.) So I picked excellent and ended up selling my DVD set, that GameStop wanted to give me $3.60 for, on Glyde.com for $35.50.

Now, I didn’t end up getting the full $35.50 as it was listed because there are some small costs involved with transactions on Glyde. They display this up front before you list your used goods for sell. You only have to pay Glyde 10% of the sale price and the cost of shipping and handling for your used games/DVDs/CDs/books to whoever buys your used item. They send you a pre-stamped, pre-addressed Glyde mailer so you don’t have to worry about it. All said and done, the 10% fee was $3.55 and the mailer cost me $1.50. So I ended up getting a total of $30.45 by placing it for sell on Glyde.com. Do you think I’m glad I didn’t accept that pathetic trade in credit at GameStop now?

Here is why I think Glyde has the potential to be the next big thing. As I was learning about what Glyde.com was about, I didn’t think I would have that many things to sell. But, literally within arms reach I found multiple games, DVDs, CDs and books that were just collecting dust in my office and really doing nothing more than take up room. Especially the books. When you’ve finished reading a book, what do you do with it? Give it to someone else to read? Put it on your bookshelf as if you’re really going to read it again? These are tough times for a lot of us, why not try and make money off of something you’ve already benefitted from? Why not post it for sell and let someone else benefit from it and get paid at the same time? Glyde is making it so easy for you to make this possible.

Look, I’m not the type of person that holds onto things for very long. I know there are tons of people out there, just like my Grandma, that likes to hold onto things FOR-EV-ER. How much of these items do you have lying around the house? Go ahead, look around. I’ll wait. Look in the junk drawer, look on your dusty bookshelf, look in your sock drawer… wait, close it. Check the garage, your car, your closet.. everywhere you could potentially have some used items you thought no longer had any value to you. Place them for sale on Glyde.com and see what happens. What have you got to lose? It’s as easy as throwing it away.

Glyde is currently being developed in Silicon Valley and it was started by internet veterans from eBay, AOL and Excite. If you go there now, you’ll notice the site is still in its alpha stage and requires an invitation code to start exploring Glyde. Hopefully I have kept your attention long enough for me to give you the opportunity to try it out yourself. The Gamer Report readers can head on over to Glyde.com and enter invitation code “TGR“. So far, I’ve had a pretty successful experience selling some things. I already told you I sold my BSG DVD set, but I also sold my Halo Graphic Novel and even sold a CD to some dude in Wisconsin.(I’m bummed I didn’t keep all my old CD cases, I used them for coasters.)

Who knows what I’ll sell tomorrow but I’ll tel you what, it’s pretty cool getting an email saying you’ve sold something you didn’t think was worth anything. The process is so easy, you owe it to yourself to check out Glyde and enjoy its no hassle simplicity. Check it out and tell me what you think in the comments. If you post something for sell on Glyde, tell me how much money you made. Same thing if you end up finding a game you’ve been wanting to play for a while, buy it and let me know how much money you saved compared to a retail store. Now go! Spread the word: Glyde.com.

(Just added a new commenting plug-in. You don’t have to sign up for IntenseDebate to comment)

Leave a comment